Workplace Anxiety

31 01 2008

People in the office are being let go left as well as right.  People in the middle are probably just a susceptible to shit-canning too.

The reasons people are being let go are understandable; rude to a customer, constant sick calls, etc.

It still sucks.  I mean, I’m not particularly worried about my job.  I’m rarely not here, keep my off-color comments to myself (or at least mute the headset when I can’t) and I know more about our product than most.

Still, it just puts this very palpable feeling of unease in the air when this shit starts happening. 

“Will I be next?”

“What am I gonna do if I’m next?”

“Are the laying off the entire department?”

It’s a shitty-ass feeling to walk into every morning.  Coming in and wondering if your shit’s going to be in a tidy little pile waiting to be taken home.  Wondering what the fuck you’re gonna do when it’s time to pay rent or put gas in your car.  I have never (Ok, maybe not “never”) been less excited to come into work in the morning.

Hopefully my fears are unfounded and everything will be ok.

Anyone having similar workplace angst going on?  Why don’t you leave a comment and tell me about it?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

